top of page

Aquatic Academy celebrates excellence and 15th year Anniversary

The Aquatic Academy held their 15th Annual prize Giving and Recognition Awards at a fun event held on the 26 April.

The trophies had to be allocated, as the swimmers were now competing at a higher standard of competition than before.

The Trophy winners were as follows:

Michael Brand Trophy - Overall best male swimmer was awarded to Kyle Mckenzie who among many exceptional achievements in this past season, won 2 bronze medals in the SA Youth Nationals for both the 200m Breaststroke and 200m Individual Medley. Kyle qualified to swim in one semi- final in the Open Age group. Kyle qualified for both the SA Junior & Youth National Championships, was selected for the EGA Strategic Squad and broke a record in the 100m Breastroke Short Course Interprovincial and was second in the 200m Individual Medley at the Schools Prestige Gala.

Isabel Humphrey Trophy. Overall best female swimmer was awarded to Savannah Mitchell for qualifying to compete at SA Junior & Youth Nationals. Savannah was selected as a member of the EGA Strategic Squad and broke the 100m breaststroke record for woman, at the same short course inter provincial, as Kyle.

Top Sports Person: Kent Field.

Top Male SAJN National Championship Qualifier – Kyle McKenzie

Top Lady SAJN National Championship Qualifier – Savannah Mitchell

Top Level 3 Swimmer Male – Murray Copeland - 5 finals - 16 points (2nd top point scorer). Selected for EGA Strategic squad and swam in the short course inter provincial representing EGA.

Top Level 3 Swimmer Female – Colette Fourie - 3 Finals -18 points (Top point scorer for ESP). Provincial Representation

Top Level 2 Swimmer Male – Clayton Malaza - 7 Finals - 35 points (2nd top point scorer for ESP)

Top Level 2 Swimmer Female – Savannah Sheerin - 10 finals - 89 points – 2 gold medals, 3 silver medals and 2 Bronze medals (Top point scorer for ESP)

Top Level 1 Swimmer Male – Jayden Botha

Top Level 1 Swimmer Female – Ashley Corns

Open Water Male – Nicholas Smith. Represented EGA at the Open Water Nationals in both the 3km and 5km events. Nicholas also represented EGA in pool swimming.

Open water Female – Kerrin Burgess. She won the Sterkfontein swim.

Most Promising Novice Boy – Onalerena Matli.

Most Promising Novice Girl – Nicole Van Zyl

Shooting Star – Kyle North

Shooting Star – Mikayla Pon. Top Points scorer for ESP in Backstroke Events.

Hell Week trophy winner was Kyle McKenzie.

Two special trophies were awarded to Kendrick Chiramba, the pool caretaker, and The Kempton Express for assisting so many swimmers to realise their potential.

Recognition awards were handed out to all the swimmers for provincial representation in both pool swimming, open water, and waterpolo.

Jessica Burgess represented EGA at 2 events in the past season. Adrian Ristow was selected for the first time to swim in the short course inter provincial.

The waterpolo swimmers recognised were Brooklynn Bohler, Keagan Bothma, Murray Copeland, Oyama Malaza, Travis and Wyatt Banks for Eastern School teams, and Caitlin Stott for Central Gauteng Schools.

In total, 154 certificates were awarded. All swimmers that competed in the 2016 Short Course Championships (ESP Aquatics won this event), Long Course Championships, and the different levels of regional and national competition were recognised.

Senior Awards

Back L-R: Jonathan Smith. Kerrin Burgess. Nicholas Smith. Caitlin Stott. Kent Field.

Middle row L-R: Murray Copeland. Caitlin Heuer. Savannah Mitchell. Colette Fourie. Brooklynn Bohler.

Front: Kyle McKenzie.

Back L-R: Oyama Malaza. Arno Joubert, Jody Copeland, Tambai Dutiro.

Front L-R: Danika Brechenmacher. Christina Pon. Mikayla Pon. Morgan Corns. Phillipa Austin

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page