top of page

Eastern Gauteng Aquatics Summer Championships 2019

The wettest, coldest, Eastern Gauteng Summer Championships in memory, was held over the first weekend in December. Despite drenched kit ... our small team did very well, and remained positive through 5 days of tough competition.

Bernelee Doster was this year’s Super Swimmer winning a total of 12 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze medal in her individual events. She swam every event on the programme from the 800 free to 200 fly, and finaled and medalled in every one.

Bernelee was awarded the trophies for the TOP FEMALE 14/15 YEARS and TOP SENIOR SWIMMER (Overall). These results following her win at the EGA Open Water Championships, 3km swim, has defined her versatility and athleticism.

Top swimmers facing the challenge of swimming in every event at a Provincial Championship must face up to 4.8Km of hard racing as well as swimming a minimum of 2km a day in Warm ups. Over the 5 days Bernelee would have swum 13.8km.

Kyle Mckenzie finaled in every event he swam, winning 6 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze, and was awarded the TOP MALE 16 AND OVER Trophy. ESP and The Aquatic Academy will miss him when he leaves to study in America in January.

Points were scored from the many finals that our swimmers qualified for.

Annebel Van Wyk attained a South African Junior Qualifying time, and will join Bernelee and Joshua next year at the National event to be held over Easter in Durban.

Overall ESP medal count:

Individual Medals.

22 Gold

14 Silver

4 Bronze

Our relay teams won 4 Bronze medals.

The ESP medal winners are Josh Gillespe, a sprint specialist. He won 3 Gold medals. Annebel Van Wyk - 1 Gold; 1 Silver. Francois Allers- 2 Silver; 1 Bronze. Mikayla Pon- 2 Silver. Clayton Malaza - 1 Silver; 1 Bronze. Tambai Dutiro - 1 Silver. Ona Matli - 1 Silver

Relay medalists include Josh Gillespe, Kyle McKenzie. Clayton Malaza. Tambai Dutiro. Bernelee Doster. Christina Pon. Mosidi Kgaswe. Danika Brechenmacher.

ESP - Exceptional Swimming Performances!

Pic 1 ESP Team:

ESP 2019 Team


Tambai Dutiro. Clayton Malaza, Annebel Van Wyk. Kyle Mckenzie. Bernelee Doster. Joshua Gillespie. Francois Allers. Lwandle Masango. Adam Maule. Leo Vollenbroek,


Jared Wade. Kaitlyn Immelman. Danika Brechenmacher. Christina Pon. Dylan Hutton. Ethan Hooper. Ethan Hutton. Kerrin Burgess


Chubekile Ndawo. Mosidi Kgwase. Mikayle Pon. Oratile Matli.

Pic 2:

Bernelee Doster with the trophies awarded for top 14/15yr girl and Top overall Senior swimmer

Bernelee Doster with the trophies awarded for top 14/15yr girl and Top overall Senior swimmer.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page